Agony Tate Book Reviews and Blog

New Release Review: How to Howl at the Moon by Eli Easton


Howl

New Release Review: How to Howl at the Moon by Eli Easton

Published: February 28, 2015

Available at Amazon.com

Price: $4.99

After discovering a betrayal and abuse of power by his boss, Tim Weston quits and moves to Mad Creek; a town that, unbeknownst to Tim, is populated with “quickened” dogs – dogs that have gained the ability to become human.

Things don’t start out so great, as Sheriff Lance Beaufort, descended from Border Collies on both sides, decides Tim is in town for nefarious purposes and proceeds to “investigate”.  Taking his dog form he insinuates himself as Tim’s pet, and finds that Tim is everything he never knew he wanted.

If they can wade through the meddling mother, obnoxious ex-boss, past abuse, and a dangerous drug cartel, Tim and Lance might just stand a chance.

THE GOOD

This was such an adorable story.  I mean, I wanted to pinch its cheeks and coo at it, it was so freaking adorable.  Lance, being all Border Collie, is protective and suspicious, and the lengths he’s willing to go through to protect his pack is at times hilarious. Tim gets so flustered every time the over protective and intimidating Alpha Dog (literally) shows up that he starts tripping over his words and flailing like he’s guilty of every disreputable act Lance has suggested.

It’s been a very long time since I’ve read something so light hearted and good natured as this book.  Don’t get me wrong, there were some serious moments where I worried about Tim and Lance, (what good romance doesn’t have a little angst), but all’s well that ends well, and the book ends with the same enchanting humor that made this book so wonderful.

THE BAD

I couldn’t really think of anything for this.

THE UGLY

I really needed to read something like this.  I found myself smiling though most of the book, and following my husband around the house telling him bits of the story.  I LAUGHED!  I haven’t actually laughed in two weeks.   The $4.99 is so worth it, and I actually found myself buying two other of Easton’s books before I even realized what I was doing because I just want to keep smiling.

This is sweet and endearing story I think anyone would like.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

